Tags

I had a post all ready to go for this morning, but in light of the tragedy in Boston, I didn’t feel right posting about anything else.

But I don’t really know what I can contribute to the conversation.

I always want to say something profound and healing in times like these. I want to say something about looking for the helpers or the fact that the good people outnumber the bad. I want to say something optimistic about how we really can go on in the face of this craziness.

But today, I’m at a bit of a loss.

So, I’ll just say that I’m sorry.

I’m sorry to those people who were scared and injured and suffered unimaginable loss.

I’m sorry that the Boston Marathon now has something evil attached to it, like Virginia Tech and Oklahoma City.

I’m sorry that this is no longer the type of event that is rare.

But here’s what I’m not sorry about.

I’m not sorry that the world gets to see brave people rushing towards danger to help out fellow humans.

I’m not sorry that we can come together and show our strength and resilience in the face of tragedy.

I’m not sorry that we will take a stand to say what is acceptable in our society and what is not.

We are all together in this – in this sadness – but we can also be together in sending light and love to people everywhere who are scared, lost and brokenhearted.

Peace, peace, peace.

