I’m not a big fan of making resolutions, so there will be no grand, sweeping proclamations made for this first post of the new year. I won’t be promising to do some things and swearing off other things; it’s all too much pressure for my imperfect little self.

But I love way that wonderful words, put together nicely, can change how I look at things.

When life begins
we are tender and weak
When life ends
we are stiff and rigid
All things, including the grass and trees,
are soft and pliable in life
dry and brittle in death

So the soft and supple
are the companions of life
While the stiff and unyielding
are the companions of death

An army that cannot yield
will be defeated
A tree that cannot bend
will crack in the wind
Thus by Nature’s decree
the hard and strong are defeated
while the soft and gentle are triumphant

~Tao Te Ching, Verse 76

As this new year begins, this verse encourages me to realize that the more I fight circumstances, the more ridged I am in my stances, the more easily I feel defeated. My flexibility – in mind, body and soul – is what allows for the flow. And that flow is pure freedom.

Welcome to 2012, y’all. Let’s make it a peaceful, healthy and meaningful year!

You might also like:

