Tags

I really hate being made fun of.

I am an only child, I was homeschooled and had tutors, so I guess all that means I missed out on that rite of passage of being teased as a kid. I still don’t know what to do with it and even the slightest ribbing often leaves me crying on the bathroom floor.

But I find that as I am getting older, I am slowly (very slowly) learning how to laugh at myself. Even if my first instinct is to go fetal, I am realizing I can take a breath, sidestep the defensiveness and giggle along with everyone else.

Stuff like this helps.

I am so grateful for this shift in perception, because life is a hell of a lot easier when you finally start to learn that you don’t have to take it all so seriously. None of us are getting out of here alive, anyway.

You might also like:

