Tags

, , ,

Just now now: a photo representing the past week; a visual gratitude journal, of sorts.

I got a physical this week. They took my blood and measurements and all kinds of things and broke me down to all these numbers.

I guess all those numbers added up to good, because the report back was, “Lisa, you are a machine.”

While I love gloating about my ideal, machine-like precision and delight in flaunting my awesome HDL number in my husband’s face – I eventually remember that it is not about that.

So what is it about?

It’s why I go to yoga even when I don’t feel like going to yoga.
It’s why I no longer keep a pint of Ben And Jerry’s on hand at all times.
It’s is why I sit down to meditate even when my mind screams that NOTHING is happening and this is pointless and stupid.

The numbers are good and I am grateful for that, but what I am more grateful for is what those numbers translate into for my life.

It means more time with my family and friends.
It means more time doing activities I love.
It means a more healthy life, and health and happiness go hand-in-hand.

And that is worth giving up my daily New York Super Fudge Chunk habit.

You might also like: 

