The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach – waiting for a gift from the sea.

Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Last week, the dog and I took a little vacation to visit my grandmother in North Carolina.

November might be an unusual time for a beach vacation, but I feel like I have discovered something awesome. I’m not really a slather-up and lay-out kind of girl and ever since I was attacked by giant seaweed, I have been weary of ocean swimming. I love walking on the beach, looking for shells and meditating on the dunes. You get to do all that in November at the beach, but with practically zero other people. It’s pretty fantastic.

Also fantastic was the chance to spend some time with my Grandma. She rocks. We watched Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy and yelled out answers, even when they were entirely wrong. I showed her my latest knitting project (she taught me how to knit) and we made my favorite kid-foods for dinner.

It was fun stuff.

It reminded me that the simplest vacations can be the best ones. The ones where there is no need to make a plan for the day. The ones where I can wake up and do yoga in the kitchen and take shamelessly long naps in the afternoon. The ones where hush puppies from the chicken place down the road make an acceptable dinner and the third episode of Bones is my cue to get ready to go to bed.

Thanks for the good times, Gramma.

You might also like:

