Tags

, ,

Just now now: a photo representing the past week; a visual gratitude journal, of sorts. 

The back brace I wore after my injury

This week, I celebrated the anniversary of my severe spinal injury. It might seem a strange thing to celebrate, but I treat it like a birthday.

I think it’s important to acknowledge the day when it was questionable if I would ever walk again.

It’s important to acknowledge how painful it was to do even simple things, so that I never take my body for granted.

It’s important to acknowledge that in a moment, everything can change.

I would never wish an injury on anyone, but this experience changed me so deeply that I can’t imagine my life without it. I often take a moment to appreciate that I am not encased in that metal back brace anymore.

Post-injury, I exercised to keep my back strong, but it wasn’t until I started Bikram yoga that my lingering problems really disappeared. I am eternally grateful to this practice for that.  I grin like an idiot during back bends – simply because I can do them.

This weekend, show your spine a little extra love. Do some yoga, coerce a partner into a mini-massage or treat yourself to a bath with Epsom salts.

Healthy spine, happy life. – Bikram Choudhury

You might also like:

