A photo from the past week; a visual gratitude journal, of sorts. If you have a blog and want to play along at home, please share by linking to your photo in the comments!

No earthquake damage for us but this candle thingy moved a lot.

A literal and metaphorical shake up happened this week. For different reasons, I’m grateful for both. 

Literally, I’m grateful that the East coast quake left little damage in its wake. We live about 30 miles from Mineral, Virginia and while the seismic action scared the hell out of me, I know it could have been so much worse. It was a good reminder to be grateful for an ordinary day, one in which my walls don’t shake.

Metaphorically, we had been entertaining the idea of changing things up and doing something kind of crazy. In the end, we decided this particular opportunity was not for us, but it was fun to dream and to step out of the box and think – could we really do that? It’s always wonderful to keep re-assessing life and thinking about options – that’s how you keep from getting bored. Plus, now I feel extra grateful for our current situation, because we have actively chosen it. That feels good.

(Please note: my husband was concerned that all this vagueness made it sound like I was talking about a threesome. I thought all that insinuation might gain me more readers, but just to clarify: that is not what I am talking about. We were thinking about moving. That’s all.)

Not two hours before the quake hit,  I posted this on Twitter:

“Sometimes it’s fun to turn your whole life upside down and give it a little shake, just to see what happens.”

True story.

You might also like:

