What are you really good at?

Does that question make you squirm? Or is it just me?

Maybe it’s a product of my humble Canadian upbringing (heaven forbid a Canuck be proud of an accomplishment) or maybe I’ve seen too many people boasting about how fabulous they are and I’ve gone running in the opposite direction.

But the idea of making a list of things I’m good at seems about as comfortable as shoving my hand in a blender.

But, isn’t there a difference between self-confidence and being full of yourself? Isn’t it our right as people of this planet to embrace the things we are good at – isn’t that, in fact, our societal obligation?

Why can I only admit that there are some things at which I do not completely suck? I say things like “decent” or “not usually terrible” to describe my writing, my yoga, my relationships, my creative tendencies. But ask me where my weaknesses lie and I’ll launch into a calculated and comprehensive attack.

Other people are not this way. Other people can stand with pride and say “Hey, I’m good at this” and not be struck by lightning or fall so madly in love with themselves that they are rendered useless to the outside world. Other people can accurately name their strengths and then identify their weaknesses in an equally factual manner. I know for a fact that these Other People are not just mythical creatures but they actually walk around among us. In fact, I live with one of these baffling mortals, which makes it all the more frustrating that I’ve not picked up on this particular habit.

If it is indeed a habit, it can be adjusted. So, here’s what I am going to do. I’m going to write down 10 things that I am really good at. From big things to little things. From the serious to the silly. I’m going to put it somewhere I see it a lot and I’m going to look at it until the sight of that list doesn’t make my skin turn inside out.

Feel free to join me, if you might benefit from being reminded that it’s good to be good at things.

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our Light, not our Darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you NOT to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the World. There is nothing enlightening about shrinking so that other people won’t feel unsure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone. As we let our own Light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

– Marianne Williamson

You might also like:

