Tags

Dishes

I've been reading a lot of simplifying blogs lately and learning about what other people find helpful when trying to declutter their days and tap into the true meaning their lives. 

Washing dishes by hand seems to be a big simplifying trend. 

People are shunning their dishwashers for the allegedly soothing, repetitive, back-to-basics gesture of washing dishes by hand. They proclaim the meditative quality of the simple pleasure of warm soapy water. They make it sound like a freaking spiritual retreat, right there, standing over the sink. 

Well, my dishwasher broke, leaving me with a washer full of soap encrusted dirty dishes. So, I took them all out of the washer and got to work, expecting a wave of satisfaction to come over me and I scrubbed, rinsed and dried. 

I don't know what the hell those people are talking about. Washing up by hand is seriously annoying. 

