Tags

,

A photo from the past week; a visual gratitude journal, of sorts. If you have a blog and want to play along at home, please share by linking to your photo in the comments!


A few months ago, my mala disappeared. I couldn’t find it anywhere. I missed it. I told my husband I missed it and he said, “HA! That’s funny. Maybe you were getting too attached to your Buddhist-y bracelet.” My husband’s interpretation of equanimity notwithstanding, I missed my mala.

(If you don’t know what it is or why I would miss it – it’s sort of the Buddhist version of a rosary. I use it during meditation, and I wear it to remind me to stay in the moment.)

I adjusted to meditating without it. I even found a few new techniques, but mostly I just got back to basics. Paying attention to the breath. No mala. No mantras. Just the breath.

Then this week, it just showed up. It was in my jewelry box, which I know I checked a thousand times.

I guess it was just a reminder that I need nothing but my breath to meditate. But I’m still glad it’s home.

